Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky has become this year’s winner of the Boris Nemtsov Prize for Courage.

That’s according to the Boris Nemtsov Foundation for Freedom, Ukrinform reports.

In a situation of war, the Foundation decided to nominate Ukrainian representatives for the award. Among the candidates were Kyiv Mayor Vitali Klitschko, leader of the Okean Elzy band Sviatoslav Vakarchuk, founder of a unit of combat volunteer medics Yuliia Paievska (Taira), presidential adviser Oleksiy Arestovych, and others.

A reminder that, on February 24, 2022, Russian President Vladimir Putin initiated a full-scale invasion of Ukraine, starting a war. Russian troops are shelling and destroying the key infrastructure facilities, launching missile and air strikes on residential areas in Ukrainian cities and villages, torturing and murdering civilians.